Menu

Home > Research Guide - E-resources Week 2023

E-resources Week 2023 - Join Workshop and Win Prize

Welcome to E-resources Week 2023 at HKSYU Library! Our goal is to promote the E-resources available to all staff and students. A variety of activities for you to participate in, including:

  1. Booth
    Visit our booth to get help with using our electronic resources and downloading useful apps.
  2. Workshop
    Attend workshops to learn effective search strategies, accessing and using e-books, and citation management tools.
  3. Quiz and Prize
    Attend our workshops and answer our online quiz for a chance to win prizes.
We hope you will join us for E-resources Week 2023 and discover all the resources and opportunities that are available to you through the HKSYU Library.

For enquiries, please contact: libinfo@hksyu.edu
 
Booth

 
Redeem a gift in Booth
Follow us on Instagram or Facebook to redeem an A4 folder
Download any App from Mobility of E-Resources to redeem a roll of washi tape
Workshop Schedule
Click the "Topic" for the workshop details.
Date Time Topic Speaker Language Organization / Database Panopto Video PPT
18 Sep
(Mon)		 10:00 am - 11:30 am Practice English with Road to IELTS & Practical Writing Ms. Charlotte Kwok 
(Business Development Executive)		 English Link N/A
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm Doing History Research with Gale Databases Mr. Alfred Ng
(Senior Regional Sales Manager)		 English Link -Gale Primary Source 
-Gale Research Complete
19 Sep
(Tue)		 10:30 am - 12:00 nn Citation Management with EndNote Ms. Dju-Lyn Chng 
(Senior Customer Success Manager – APAC)		 English Link PPT
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm Journal Citation Report  Ms. Dju-Lyn Chng 
(Senior Customer Success Manager)		 English Link PPT
5:35 pm - 6:20 pm 數碼圖書館 - 資源介紹 Ms. Kiki Li
(Learning Support Librarian)		 粵語 Link PPT
20 Sep
(Wed)		 11:00 am - 12:30 pm Finding Journal with ProQuest and Other Databases Mr. Gary Man 
(Customer Education Trainer)		 English Link PPT
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm Using Sage and Explore New Research Techniques Ms. Rosamond Hao
(Assistant Library Faculty Liaison Manager)		 English Link PPT
21 Sep
(Thu)		 11:00 am - 12:30 pm 慧科新聞資料庫 - 善用大數據研究 Mr. Chris Leung 
(Client Success Manager)		 粵語 Link N/A
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm Getting Data and Statistic with Statista Ms. Brenda Lim 
(Group Director, Academia & Public Sector)		 English Link N/A
5:30 pm - 6:15 pm 精選數據庫和手機應用程式 Ms. Kiki Li
(Learning Support Librarian)		 粵語 Link PPT
22 Sep
(Fri)		 9:00 am - 10:00 am Pressreader Online - Magazines and Newspapers Mr. David Lau 
(Territory Manager)		 English Link N/A
4:00 pm -5:30 pm Finding Journal with EBSCO and Tips for Searching Mr. Evan Shih 
(Senior Training Specialist)		 English Link PPT
5:45 pm -6:45 pm 圖書館中文電子數據庫 Ms. Kiki Li
(Learning Support Librarian)		 粵語 Link PPT
The registration will close 30 minutes before the workshop starts. 

Physical workshop
Physical workshop in 6/F Library, seating is limited to 25 attendees and is on a first-come, first-served basis. When we received 25 registration of the physical for that section, that registration will close.

For the attendees attending the physical workshop, you will receive a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable as a gift.


Zoom workshop
Zoom link and reminder email will send to attendees 1 day and 15 minutes before the workshop.

For enquiries, please contact: libinfo@hksyu.edu
Clarity English 工作坊 – 使用 Road to IELTS 及Practical Writing 網上學習英文
日期︰2023年9月18日 (星期一)
時間︰上午10時至上午11時30分
地點︰圖書館6樓 及 Zoom
語言︰英語
內容︰
工作坊內程主要介紹如何註冊、使用 Road to IELTS及Practical Writing。兩個資料庫都有教學和練習，讓使用者可以有系統地學習英語。
同時會簡介其餘3個仁大圖書館提供Clarity English平台的另外3個英文學習電子資料庫，包括︰Tense Buster 、 Clear Pronunciation 1&2、 Study Skills Success。

凡參加實體工作坊可獲得3合1充電線膠囊一份！

Date: 18 September 2023 (Monday)
Time: 10:00 am – 11:30 am
Venue: 6/F Library and Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content: The workshop mainly introduces how to use Road to IELTS and Practical Writing. Both databases provide teaching and practice materials, enabling users to learn English systematically.
Additionally, during the workshop, we will introduce three other English learning databases subscribed by HKSYU Library: Tense Buster, Clear Pronunciation 1 & 2 and Study Skills Success.

Participants attending the physical workshops will receive a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable!
Gale 工作坊– 使用Gale進行歷史研究及簡介端傳媒
日期︰2023年9月18日 (星期一)
時間︰下午3時至下午4時30分
地點︰圖書館6樓 及 Zoom
語言︰英語
內容︰
  • 介紹仁大圖書館可使用的Gale資料庫
  • 認識如何使用資料庫的功能和搜索，建立檢索策略
  • 通過使用與香港歷史相關的示例，對資料庫進行檢索，以便找到不同歷史研究主題的一手史料
  • 使用 Gale Primary Sources及 Gale Research Complete 進行歷史研究
  • 介紹端傳媒
凡參加實體工作坊可獲得3合1充電線膠囊一份！  

Date: 18 September 2023 (Monday)
Time: 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
Venue: 6/F Library and Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:
  • Introduction to subscribed Gale database name
  • Understand the platform functions and search, how to build a search strategy
  • To have an overview of the database for finding digital primary source archive for different History research topics, by using examples relate to the Hong Kong History
  • Doing History Research with Gale Primary Sources & Gale Research Complete (e.g., Highlight with Hong Kong History)
  • Introduce Initium Media
Participants attending the physical workshops will receive a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable!
Endnote 工作坊 – 使用Endnote管理文獻
日期︰2023年9月19日 (星期二)
時間︰上午10時30分至中午12時
地點︰Zoom
語言︰英語
內容︰
  • 註冊EndNote帳號
  • 建立參考文獻目錄
  • 管理參考文獻
  • 將參考文獻匯出到你的論文中
Date: 19 September 2023 (Tuesday)
Time: 10:30 am – 12:00 nn
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:
  • EndNote account registration
  • How to create your reference collection
  • How to organize your references
  • How to export references to your paper
Journal Citation Report 工作坊 – 期刊引用指標
日期︰2023年9月19日 (星期二)
時間︰下午2時至下午3時30分
地點︰Zoom
語言︰英語
內容︰
  • 在您專業領域中，檢索Web of Science 的期刊
  • 理解如何避免掉入掠奪性出版的陷阱
  • 利用Journal Citation Report中的期刊引用指標，以更好地決定在哪裡發表論文
  • 找到期刊影響係數，以識別在一個學科中被引用次數高的期刊
  • 《期刊影響係數》和《期刊引用指標》之間有什麼區別

Date: 19 September 2023 (Tuesday)
Time: 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:
  • Identify journals in Web of Science in your specialisation
  • Understand how to avoid the pitfalls of predatory publishing
  • How to use the journal metrics in Journal Citation Report to make better decision on where to publish
  • To find the impact factor of a journal to identify highly cited journals in a discipline
  • What is the difference between Journal Impact Factor and Journal Citation Indicator
仁大圖書館工作坊 – 數碼圖書館 - 資源介紹
日期︰2023年9月19日 (星期二)
時間︰下午5時35分至下午6時20分
地點︰圖書館6樓 及 Zoom
語言︰粵語
內容︰
工作坊將以仁大圖書館網頁為起點，介紹透過圖書館網頁可以使用的圖書館服務和資源。 包括︰檢索圖書館資料、查閱借閱記錄、網上預約系統、館際互借服務、機構典藏、圖書館指南、香港樹仁大學檔案、簡介電子資源

凡參加實體工作坊可獲得3合1充電線膠囊一份！

Date: 19 September 2023 (Tuesday)
Time: 5:35 pm – 6:20 pm
Venue: 6/F and Zoom
Medium of Instruction: Cantonese
Content:
The workshop will use HKSYU Library website as a starting point to introduce the library services and resources available through the website. These include Searching Library Materials, Checking "My Circulation Record”, Room/Workstation System, Interlibrary Loan Service, HKSYU University Archives, Library Guides, Institutional Repository, and an introduction to E-resources.

Participants attending the physical workshops will receive a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable!
ProQuest 工作坊– 使用ProQuest搜尋學術期刊及其他ProQuest資料庫
日期︰2023年9月20日 (星期三)
時間︰上午11時至下午12時30分
地點︰Zoom
語言︰英語
內容︰
工作坊會展示如何使用ProQuest資料庫取得各種類型電子資料，幫助你的學術研究和學習，也會介紹ProQuest平台、 ProQuest platform、eBook Central platform和 Alexander Street Multimedia影片資料庫。

Date: 20 September 2023 (Wednesday)
Time: 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction:English
Content:
The workshop will show how to use ProQuest databases to obtain various types of resources to help your academic research and study. Introduction to ProQuest platform, eBook Central platform, and Alexander Street Multimedia and Video platforms.
Sage 工作坊– 使用Sage探索新的研究技巧
日期︰2023年9月20日 (星期三)
時間︰下午3時至下午4時30分
地點︰Zoom
語言︰英語
內容︰
  • 全方位創新的網上電子資源，使研究和統計生活化
  • 使用 SAGE Research Methods ，尋找有關研究方法的高質品文章和資源
  • 探索新的研究技巧
  • 分享本科生和研究生的例子 

Date: 20 September 2023 (Wednesfay)
Time: 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:
  • An all-in-one innovative online resource that brings methods and statistics to life
  • How to use SAGE Research Methods to find high quality articles and resources on research methods
  • Explore new research techniques
  • Access case studies for undergraduate students and postgraduate students
  • Other important points which needed to be included
Wisers 工作坊 – 慧科新聞資料庫 - 善用大數據研究
日期︰2023年9月21日 (星期四)
時間︰上午11時至下午12時30分
地點︰圖書館6樓 及 Zoom
語言︰粵語
內容︰
  • 學習如何善用Wise One 及Wise Search取得大數據使研究做得更好
  • 如何在Wisers中搜尋資料
  • 使用不同的方法提升使用Wise One和Wise Search資料庫中的數據準確度
  • 分享本科生和研究生的例子
凡參加實體工作坊可獲得3合1充電線膠囊一份！

Date: 21 September 2023 (Thursday)
Time: 11:00 am – 12:30 am
enue: 6/F Library and Zoom
Medium of Instruction: Cantonese
Content:
  • Learn to Do Better Research in the Big Data with Wise One and Wise Search
  • How to use the search engine practically in Wisers.
  • What are the different ways to enhance the accuracy of using Wise One and Wise Search platform to reach the users’ target data
  • Case studies for undergraduate students and postgraduate students
Participants attending the physical workshops will receive a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable!
Statista工作坊 – 使用Statista獲取數據和統計資料
日期︰2023年9月21日 (星期四)
時間︰下午3時至下午4時30分
地點︰Zoom
語言︰英語
內容︰
  • 介紹仁大圖書館提供的Statista資料庫
  • Statista內的功能
  • 如何在Statista檢索所需資料
  • 教師和學生如何利用Statista教學與學習
  • 誰適合使用Statista

Date: 21 September 2023 (Thursday)
Time: 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:
  • Focus on our subscribed Statista platform
  • The functions
  • Searching features
  • What are the advantages for students and professors when they use Statista?
  • What kinds of the users are suitable on using Statista
仁大圖書館工作坊 – 精選數據庫和手機應用程式
日期︰2023年9月21日 (星期四)
時間︰下午5時30分至下午6時15分
地點︰圖書館6樓 及 Zoom
語言︰粵語
內容︰ 工作坊分享常用的資料庫，包括︰ 凡參加實體工作坊可獲得3合1充電線膠囊一份！

ate: 21 September 2023 (Thursday)
Time: 5:30 pm – 6:15 pm
Venue: 6/F Library and Zoom
Medium of Instruction: Cantonese
Content: Participants attending the physical workshops will receive a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable
PressReader 工作坊– 使用PressReader閱讀新聞及雜誌
日期︰2023年9月22日 (星期五)
時間︰上午9時至上午10時
地點︰Zoom
語言︰英語
內容︰
  • 介紹 PressReader的功能以最受歡迎的雜誌和報章
  • 如何在電腦和手機應用程式閱讀報紙和雜誌
  • PressReader有120多個國家、60多種語言的報紙和雜誌，如何充分使用PressReader新聞和媒體資訊進行學習、研究及撰寫論文

Date: 22 September 2023 (Friday)
Time: 9:00 am – 10:00 am
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:
  • Introduce PressReader features and the most popular magazines and newspapers
  • How to read the newspapers and magazines via desktop and mobile app
  • How to use and make the most of PressReader, an online platform containing a selection of newspapers and magazines from over 120 countries in over 60 languages, to find news and media sources for studies, research or dissertation
EBSCO Workshop – 使用 EBSCOhost 搜尋學術期刊及檢索技巧
日期︰2023年9月22日 (星期五)
時間︰下午4時至下午5時30分
地點︰Zoom
語言︰英語
內容︰
  • 簡介仁大圖書館提供的 EBSCOhost電子資料庫
  • 如何善用 EBSCOhost進行檢索、修正研究、查看資料和檢索記錄
  • 在 EBSCOhost進行基本和進階檢索 使用EBSCOhost的重要性，各個主題涵蓋內容的標準
  • 管理檢索得到的資料：如何保存、打印、通過電子郵件發送和匯出資料
  • 使用「My EBSCOhost folder」取得新通知和分享文件夾等
  • 了解更多關於EBSCOhost的支援

Date: 22 September 2023 (Friday)
Time: 4:00 pm – 5:30 pm
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:
  • Briefly mention the subscribed EBSCOhost platforms names
  • How to search, refine research, view results and records in EBSCOhost databases
  • Basic and advanced searches examples
  • How important for the users to use EBSCOhost databases and what subject's criteria are covered
  • Managing the results: how to save, print, send by email and export good results
  • My EBSCOhost folder: the door to alerts, shared folders etc.
  • More about EBSCO support
仁大圖書館工作坊 – 圖書館中文電子數據庫
日期︰2023年9月22日 (星期五)
時間︰下午5時45分至下午6時45分
地點︰圖書館6樓 及 Zoom
語言︰粵語
內容︰工作坊會介紹圖書館的中文電子資料庫，包括︰ 凡參加實體工作坊可獲得3合1充電線膠囊一份！ 

Date: 22 September 2023 (Friday)
Time: 5:45 pm – 6:45 pm
Venue: 6/F Library and Zoom
Medium of Instruction: Cantonese
Content:
The Workshop introduce Chinese electronic databases in the library.

Participants attending the physical workshops will receive a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable!
Online Quiz 線上問答贏獎品
  • To be eligible for a prize, you MUST participate in at least one workshop (physical or online) and complete an online quiz.
  • 必需出席任何一節工作坊(實體或線上) ，並完成線上問答，進入抽獎。

  • Each participant can only submit one completed quiz for the Lucky Draw.
  • 每位參與者只能提交一份完成的線上問答來參加抽獎。

  • Submission period: 18 Sep 2023, 0:00 am – 29 Sep 2023, 11:59 pm.
  • 線上問答活動日期：2023年9月18日上午0:00至2023年9月29日晚上11:59。

  • Result will be announced in October 2023. The gift recipients will be notified by email.
  • 結果將於2023年10月公佈，圖書館會通過電子郵箱通知獲獎者，有參加活動的參加者記得查收電子郵箱。

  • Gift recipient must present his/her valid student/staff card to redeem the gift in person at HKSYU Library within the redemption period. 
  • 獲獎者必須在兌換期內攜帶有效的學生/職員證到香港樹仁大學圖書館親自兌換獎品

  • For enquiries, please contact: libinfo@hksyu.edu
Prize
  Prize Quantity Sponsor(s) Winner
1st iPad (9th generation) Wi-Fi 64 GB - Gray 1 超星 23***8M / T* H* L*
2 nd Apple Watch (40mm + GPS) 2 Gale, Airiti 22**28 / W* R*
22**34 / Y* C* E*
3 rd BOOX Poke4 Lite 6" E-book Reader 1 Taylor & Francis 23**03 / T* X*
4 th iPad Pencil 1 Statista 22**43 / C* K* M*
5 th Wireless Headphone 1 Emerald 21**52 / C* W* I*
6 th Mi Smart Band 5 1 CNKI 23***4M / J* H* 
7 th Guitar Shape USB + 
City Super Vouchers $100		 5 CNKI + ProQuest / ExLibris 22***2M / C* W* S*
21**62 / C* S* S*
22**11 / W*R*
23**14 / Y* Z*
0**2 / Y* W* M*
8 th Starbucks Vouchers $200 2 Cambridge 0**0 / C* X*
0**3 / T* Q*
9 th City Super Vouchers $100 10 ProQuest / ExLibris 20**90 / N* Y* M*
22**03 / Q* K*
22**62 / L* Y* Y*
21***1D / K* S* H*
22**08 / Z* Z*
21**08 / L* F* L*
21**14 / T* S* C*
23**38 / C* Y* L*
22**80 / L* K* Y*
4**5 / L* Y* Y*
10 th PARKNSHOP Vouchers $50 6 Clarity English 22**22 / N* Y* C*
0**5 / L* L*
23**26 / C* K* L*
22**58 / Y* C* T*
23***1M / Y* H*
23**29 / M* B* M*
11 th Wireless Charger 1 Lexis 23**35 / C* C* K*
12 th Vacuum Bottles 5 Qualtrics 22**19 / L* L* I*
23**58 / X* Y*
22**44 / F* C* Y*
20**35 / K* H* Y*
23**27 / T* W* T*
13 th Vacuum Cups 5 Cambridge 23***6M / B* W*
22**04 / L* Y*
22**23 / K* S* M*
22**07 / L* S*
0**9 / Z* Y*
14 th Gift Set (Pen, Notebook, Color Sticky Box) 20 APA, McGrawHill, Sage 22**21 / L* S*
21**42 / W* S* N*
22**50 / H* K*
23**66 / S* K* C*
20**01 / H* D*
23**23 / L* Y* Y*
21***2M / C* Y* M*
21**54 / S* A* T* C*
21**01 / Y* P* Y*
0**6 / T* S* L*
20**58 / L* T* K*
23**46 / L* Y*
0**8 / L* S* C*
22**18 / N* Y* C*
23**59 / C* M* Y*
23**14 / L* T* N*
22**50 / L* W* M*
0**2 / L* W* Y*
0**3 / L* H* P*
0**3 / T* T* K*