- Home
- Recommended Websites
- Recommended Books
- Institutional Repository
- IBM Cloud Pak for Data
- APA Style (7th Edition)
- Citation Management Tools
- AI Tools (Research & General Use)
- Workshops and Training
This guide provides an overview of the library resources available for Applied Data Science students.
Programme website
Programme website
| Code | Course Name |
|---|---|
| ADS100 | Introduction to Data Science |
| ADS130 | Probability and Statistics |
| ADS151 | Python for Data Science |
| ADS210 | DIGITAL HUMANITIES: THEORIES AND METHODS |
| ADS230 | Introduction to Database Systems |
| ADS261 | Calculus and Linear Algebra |
| ADS310 | Research methods and Data Analytics |
| ADS360 | COMPUTATIONAL THINKING |
| ADS410 | Introduction to Machine Learning |
| ADS480 | Cloud Computing |
28065113
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's premier platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. It advances research and scholarship with the world's leading database of peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical and health literature. There are 21M articles & book chapters, 800 open-access journals and 3.3M open-access articles on the platform. It contains a large collection of Social Sciences and Humanities journals and books, highlighting historical context, current developments, theories, applications, trends and more.
ScienceDirect: Computer Science Collection provides coverage of all areas of Computer Science including Software Engineering, Theoretical Computer Science, Applied Computer Science, Signal Processing, Artifical Intelligence, Information System, Computer Networks and Communications, and more.
ScienceDirect: Computer Science Collection provides coverage of all areas of Computer Science including Software Engineering, Theoretical Computer Science, Applied Computer Science, Signal Processing, Artifical Intelligence, Information System, Computer Networks and Communications, and more.
ACM Digital Library is a service offered by the Association for Computing Machinery. It includes journals, conference proceedings, magazines and newsletters. The platform provides the full images of journals, magazines, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Taylor & Francis Group collaborate with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life. The Social Sciences & Humanities Library covers over 1,000 scholarly journals content spans various areas of Humanities and Social Sciences:
- Behavioral Science
- Computer Science
- Criminology & Law
- Media, Cultural & Communications Studies
- Sociology & Related Disciplines
- Sports, Leisure & Tourism
EBSCOhost - Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women's studies, zoology and more.
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated multi-disciplinary full-text database across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.
Pearson IT Professional eBook Subscription Collection of popular IT e-books helps researchers broaden their knowledge of the IT industry to help support decision-making, inform product design and promote best practices. This robust collection includes more than 4,400 e-books covering a wide range of topics from content management and desktop applications to graphic design and multimedia.
ProQuest Ebook Central provides a breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including university presses and other top publishers, covering the subjects of Arts, Business, Education, Health and Medicine, History and Political Science, Law, Literature and Language, Religion and Philosophy, Social Science, and Science and Technology.
Wiley Digital Textbooks published by Wiley, currently feature over 20,000 original academic textbooks, covering more than 30 disciplines, including Business Management, Engineering, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Life and Earth Sciences, Medical Health, Social Sciences, Hospitality Management, and Humanities.
Loan period: 3 days for each book
Loan quota: 5 titles for each user
Loan period: 3 days for each book
Loan quota: 5 titles for each user
華藝中文電子書平台收錄了不同出版社授權的數萬本華文電子書， 本館已選購部分電子書，每本電子書均可供數人同時全文閱讀，主題包括經典文學、語言學習、商業經營、政治法律、社會心理、文學小說、醫療保健、藝術設計、電腦資訊、工程數學、歷史、哲學等。
HyRead ebook 是一個台灣電子書平台，提供最新出版學術、專業、休閒及工具書各類書籍，包含人文社會、文學小說、語言學習、財經商管、科學科普、電腦資訊、宗教心靈、醫藥養生、藝術設計、休閒生活、親子童書等各領域的電子書。
GitHub is a web-based platform that serves as a hub for software development. It provides a collaborative environment for developers to work together on projects, track changes, and manage version control. GitHub is widely used for open-source projects, where developers worldwide can contribute code and collaborate on projects. It also offers various features such as bug tracking, project management, and code review tools. GitHub has become an essential tool for modern software development, enabling teams to work together efficiently and effectively.
Kaggle is a popular online platform that hosts data science competitions, datasets, and machine learning models. It was founded in 2010 and has since grown into a vibrant community of data scientists, machine learning engineers, and researchers. Kaggle provides a platform for individuals and teams to compete against each other in solving real-world data problems by using machine learning and statistical techniques. The competitions hosted on Kaggle cover a wide range of topics, including image recognition, natural language processing, and predictive modeling. In addition to competitions, Kaggle also provides access to a vast collection of high-quality datasets, notebooks, and tutorials, making it an excellent resource for learning and practicing data science skills. With its strong community and resources, Kaggle has become a go-to platform for data enthusiasts and professionals worldwide.
Data.world is a collaborative platform for data scientists, analysts, and enthusiasts to discover, share, and analyze data. It was founded in 2015 and has since grown into a thriving community of data professionals who use the platform to find and work with data. Data.world offers a variety of features, including a searchable repository of public datasets, tools for data analysis and visualization, and collaboration tools for teams. Users can upload their own datasets, collaborate with others on data projects, and share insights and findings with the broader community. The platform also offers integrations with popular data analysis tools like Tableau, R, and Python. With its focus on collaboration and community, Data.world has become a valuable resource for anyone looking to work with data, from beginners to seasoned professionals.
The UC Irvine Machine Learning Repository is a collection of datasets that are widely used in the machine learning community for research and education purposes. It was created in 1987 as a way to make datasets more widely available to researchers and has since grown to include over 500 datasets. The datasets cover a wide range of topics, including classification, regression, clustering, and recommendation systems. Many of the datasets have been preprocessed and cleaned, making them suitable for use in machine learning experiments. The repository also provides various tools for accessing and working with the data, including software libraries and data visualization tools. With its extensive collection of datasets and resources, the UC Irvine Machine Learning Repository has become a valuable resource for researchers, students, and machine learning practitioners worldwide.
 |
Python Programming For Beginners In 2021: learning python in 5 days with step-by-step guidance, hands-on exercises and solution [fun tutorial for novice programmers] Publication Date : 2021 Call number : 005.133 TUD 2021 Location : English Book (4/F) |
|
| 以Python取勝 : 計量交易快速上手 Publication Date : 2021 Call number : 563.53029 1612 2021 Location : Chinese Book (2/F) |
||
 |
Data mining for business analytics : concepts, techniques and applications in python Publication Date : 2020 Call number : 005.54 DAT 2020 Location : English Book (4/F) |
|
 |
超圖解資料科學 ✕ 機器學習實戰探索 : 使用 Python = Practical exploration Publication Date : 2021 Call number : 312.831 1214 2021 Location : Chinese Book (2/F) |
|
 |
大數據分析與資料挖礦 Publication Date : 2018 Call number : 312.74 1814 2018 Location : Chinese Book (2/F) |
 |
大數據時代超吸睛視覺化工具與技術：Tableau打造30個經典數據圖表 Publication Date : 2021 Access via 華藝電子書 [ebook] |
|
 |
TensorFlow自然語言處理:善用Python深度學習函式庫 教機器學會自然語言 Publication Date : 2019 Access via HyRead [ebook] |
|
 |
Python零基礎入門班:一次打好程式設計、運算思維與邏輯訓練基本功! Publication Date : 2021 Access via HyRead [ebook] |
|
 |
圖說演算法:使用Python:理解零負擔.採高CP值Python語言實作 Publication Date : 2018 Access via HyRead [ebook] |
|
 |
圖解統計與大數據:圖解讓統計與大數據更簡單 Publication Date : 2018 Access via HyRead [ebook] |
 |
Meta-learning : theory, algorithms and applications Publication Date : 2023 Access via BSCOhost [ebook] |
|
 |
Using AI for dialoguing with texts : from psychology to cinema and literature Publication Date : 2023 Access via Ebook Central Perpetual [ebook] |
|
 |
Statistics and data visualisation with Python Publication Date : 2023 Access via Ebook Central Perpetual [ebook] |
|
 |
Deep learning in practice Publication Date : 2022 Access via Ebook Central Perpetual [ebook] |
|
 |
Handbook of computer programming with Python Publication Date : 2022 Access via Ebook Central Perpetual [ebook] |
Zotero is a free, open-source citation management tool designed to assist researchers in collecting, organising, citing, and sharing a wide range of research materials, including books, articles, reports, and web pages. It supports multiple operating systems such as Windows, Mac, and Linux, and integrates seamlessly with word processors like Microsoft Word, Google Docs, and LibreOffice to facilitate the creation of in-text citations and bibliographies in numerous citation styles.
Zotero also enables users to manage their research libraries effectively through features such as tagging, folder organisation, and collaborative group libraries, making it a versatile tool for academic research and writing. Its browser extension allows for quick capture of bibliographic information from online sources, enhancing research efficiency and accuracy.
Zotero also enables users to manage their research libraries effectively through features such as tagging, folder organisation, and collaborative group libraries, making it a versatile tool for academic research and writing. Its browser extension allows for quick capture of bibliographic information from online sources, enhancing research efficiency and accuracy.
EndNote is a library-subscribed citation management software designed to assist researchers, students, and academics in efficiently organising, storing, and citing bibliographic references throughout the research and writing process. It enables users to collect references from various sources, including databases and library catalogues, and supports the management of PDFs, images, and other research materials within customisable libraries.
EndNote integrates seamlessly with word processing programs such as Microsoft Word through its Cite While You Write feature, allowing automatic insertion and formatting of citations and bibliographies in thousands of citation styles. This automation streamlines the creation of scholarly documents, saving time and enhancing accuracy in referencing. EndNote is widely adopted in academic institutions and is available on multiple platforms, offering both desktop and web-based versions to facilitate research collaboration and accessibility across devices.
EndNote integrates seamlessly with word processing programs such as Microsoft Word through its Cite While You Write feature, allowing automatic insertion and formatting of citations and bibliographies in thousands of citation styles. This automation streamlines the creation of scholarly documents, saving time and enhancing accuracy in referencing. EndNote is widely adopted in academic institutions and is available on multiple platforms, offering both desktop and web-based versions to facilitate research collaboration and accessibility across devices.
Mendeley is a free, cross-platform citation management software developed by Elsevier that facilitates the organisation, storage, and citation of research materials. It enables users to build a personal digital library, manage and annotate PDFs, and automatically generate bibliographies and in-text citations in various referencing styles. Additionally, Mendeley supports collaboration through shared groups, allowing researchers to connect and work together efficiently.
Its compatibility across Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, and Android platforms, along with seamless integration with word processing software like Microsoft Word and LibreOffice, ensures broad accessibility and supports efficient academic workflows across devices.
Its compatibility across Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, and Android platforms, along with seamless integration with word processing software like Microsoft Word and LibreOffice, ensures broad accessibility and supports efficient academic workflows across devices.
Consensus is an AI-powered academic search engine designed to streamline and enhance the research process for students, faculty, and researchers. Built on the extensive Semantic Scholar database, which encompasses over 200 million peer-reviewed documents, Consensus leverages artificial intelligence to surface the most relevant research findings in response to user queries. Unlike traditional search engines that simply provide a list of links, Consensus extracts key insights and evidence directly from academic papers, offering concise, evidence-based summaries and always citing original sources.
The platform supports both keyword and conversational searches, enabling users to efficiently locate, analyse, and synthesise scholarly literature across all domains of science. Advanced features such as AI-powered search filters, study snapshots, and synthesis tools help users quickly assess research quality, identify highly cited or rigorous studies, and gain a comprehensive overview of the literature. Consensus is particularly valuable for conducting literature reviews, finding supporting evidence for academic writing, exploring new research questions, developing hypotheses, and identifying research gaps.
Users are required to register an account using HKSYU email to access Consensus’s premium features.
The platform supports both keyword and conversational searches, enabling users to efficiently locate, analyse, and synthesise scholarly literature across all domains of science. Advanced features such as AI-powered search filters, study snapshots, and synthesis tools help users quickly assess research quality, identify highly cited or rigorous studies, and gain a comprehensive overview of the literature. Consensus is particularly valuable for conducting literature reviews, finding supporting evidence for academic writing, exploring new research questions, developing hypotheses, and identifying research gaps.
Users are required to register an account using HKSYU email to access Consensus’s premium features.
Scite is an advanced AI-powered research platform designed to help researchers and scholars better discover, understand, and evaluate scientific literature through the use of Smart Citations. These Smart Citations provide context around how journal articles are cited, indicating whether the citations support, contradict, or merely mention the referenced work. This feature allows users to assess the credibility and impact of scholarly articles more effectively.
The platform offers robust tools for literature search and citation analysis. Features include visual citation maps, interactive dashboards, and real-time alerts for new citations or editorial notices. Scite also offers an AI Research Assistant, which generates evidence-based answers to research queries. Scite’s Reference Check function helps researchers verify the reliability of their sources by identifying retracted or disputed references, thus supporting research integrity. Additionally, Scite integrates with popular citation management tools and provides browser extensions for seamless access to citation data across the web.
By combining a comprehensive database of over 1.2 billion citation statements with advanced AI and natural language processing, Scite empowers researchers, students, and academics to make informed decisions, streamline literature reviews, and ensure the quality of their scholarly work.
Users are required to register an account using HKSYU email to access scite features such as notifications, Assistant history, and dashboards.
The platform offers robust tools for literature search and citation analysis. Features include visual citation maps, interactive dashboards, and real-time alerts for new citations or editorial notices. Scite also offers an AI Research Assistant, which generates evidence-based answers to research queries. Scite’s Reference Check function helps researchers verify the reliability of their sources by identifying retracted or disputed references, thus supporting research integrity. Additionally, Scite integrates with popular citation management tools and provides browser extensions for seamless access to citation data across the web.
By combining a comprehensive database of over 1.2 billion citation statements with advanced AI and natural language processing, Scite empowers researchers, students, and academics to make informed decisions, streamline literature reviews, and ensure the quality of their scholarly work.
Users are required to register an account using HKSYU email to access scite features such as notifications, Assistant history, and dashboards.
Discover@ShueYan Research Assistant is a generative AI-powered research tool designed to enhance academic discovery by enabling users to conduct intuitive natural language searches across extensive library resources. Developed by Clarivate in collaboration with the library community, it leverages advanced semantic search technology and a Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG) architecture grounded in the Ex Libris Central Discovery Index, which includes over 5 billion records from thousands of publishers and repositories.
The assistant provides immediate, AI-generated answers supported by references to the top five most relevant scholarly sources, facilitating quick comprehension and easy access to full texts. It also offers search suggestions to help users broaden their research scope and supports queries in multiple languages. By combining reliable, peer-reviewed academic content with transparent sourcing, Discover@ShueYan Research Assistant aims to support students and researchers in efficiently navigating complex information landscapes with confidence and precision.
The assistant provides immediate, AI-generated answers supported by references to the top five most relevant scholarly sources, facilitating quick comprehension and easy access to full texts. It also offers search suggestions to help users broaden their research scope and supports queries in multiple languages. By combining reliable, peer-reviewed academic content with transparent sourcing, Discover@ShueYan Research Assistant aims to support students and researchers in efficiently navigating complex information landscapes with confidence and precision.
Microsoft Copilot is an advanced AI assistant designed to enhance productivity and streamline workflows across various Microsoft platforms. By leveraging Large Language Models such as GPT-4 and proprietary Microsoft AI, Copilot integrates seamlessly with Microsoft 365 applications-including Windows OS, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, and Teams-to provide real-time, context-aware support. It assists users by generating content, offering intelligent suggestions, automating routine tasks, and summarising information based on user prompts. This AI-powered tool personalises responses while maintaining strict adherence to data privacy and security standards, thereby facilitating efficient collaboration and decision-making in professional and academic environments.
Please log in to your HKSYU email to access Microsoft Copilot.
Please log in to your HKSYU email to access Microsoft Copilot.
Perplexity is an advanced AI-powered knowledge platform, available for free with optional premium features, designed to deliver accurate, concise, and well-sourced information in response to user queries. Leveraging state-of-the-art artificial intelligence models and real-time internet search capabilities, Perplexity provides clear, reliable answers across a wide range of topics. Its features include article summarisation, contextual memory for seamless multi-step inquiries, and transparent source citations, making it an invaluable tool for professionals, researchers, and students seeking trustworthy information efficiently.
HKSYU ChatGPT is a secure and private AI-powered chatbot platform developed using Microsoft Azure OpenAI services, exclusively accessible to the University community including faculty, staff, and students. Introduced in August 2023 as part of a one-year pilot run, this platform supports the University’s commitment to integrating artificial intelligence into teaching, learning, and research while upholding academic integrity and user privacy.
Unlike publicly available AI tools, HKSYU ChatGPT does not use users’ prompts for model training, and users have control over their chat history. The service is designed to enhance digital literacy and foster ethical AI use, providing token-based monthly usage quotas to staff and students to facilitate responsible and effective engagement with generative AI technology. This initiative aligns with the University’s vision to innovate liberal arts education through digital technology and prepare students with essential future skills in the digital era.
Unlike publicly available AI tools, HKSYU ChatGPT does not use users’ prompts for model training, and users have control over their chat history. The service is designed to enhance digital literacy and foster ethical AI use, providing token-based monthly usage quotas to staff and students to facilitate responsible and effective engagement with generative AI technology. This initiative aligns with the University’s vision to innovate liberal arts education through digital technology and prepare students with essential future skills in the digital era.