- Home
- Recommended Books
- Recommended Resources for English Language
- Other Resources and Tools
- Graduation Theses
- APA Style 7th Edition
- EndNote - The Citation & Reference Management Tool
This guide provides an overview of the library resources available for English Language and Literature students.
Programme website
Programme website
| Code | Course Name |
|---|---|
| ENG101 | English Skills I |
| ENG112 | English Usage |
| ENG120 | Introduction to Literature |
| ENG213 | Commercial Translation |
| ENG230 | Introduction to Visual Culture |
| ENG233 | The Language of Poetry |
| ENG250 | Sociolinguistics |
| ENG260 | Academic Writing |
| ENG283 | Literature and Film |
| ENG320 | Critical Analysis of Drama |
| ENG330 | Gender, Language and Translation |
| ENG340 | Interpreting I |
| ENG406 | Literature, Culture and Ecological Ethics |
| ENG440 | Translation and Globalization |
| ENG479 | Science Fiction in Literature and Films |
- Academic Writing
- American Literature
- Architecture in Fiction
- Children’s Literature
- Contemporary Literature
- Contemporary Translation
- Critical Analysis of Drama
- Cultural Studies
- Discourse Analysis
- English Grammar
- English Usage
- English Writing
- Feminist Readings
- Gender, Language, and Translation
- Greek and Roman Mythology
- Linguistics
- Literature
- Literary Translation
- Literature and Film
- Media Translation
- Modern Fiction
- Modern Drama
- Pedagogical Grammar
- Pragmatics
- Pop Culture
- Renaissance Literature
- Romantics and Romantic Sceptics
- Science Fiction
- Second Language Acquisition
- Shakespeare
- Sociolinguistics
- Technoscience Culture
- Translation
- Travel and Culture
- Victorian Literature
- Visual Culture Studies
- Women's Writing
28065113
EBSCOhost - Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women's studies, zoology and more.
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated multi-disciplinary full-text database across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest Literature Online is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, nearly 240 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Gale Literature
brings together all of Gale’s literary databases and Gale eBooks into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. This database contains full-text literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, bibliographies, multimedia, and a rich collection of scholarly overviews.
8 new platforms include:
8 new platforms include:
- Gale Literature Criticism
- Gale Literature Resource
- Center
- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
- Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Gale Literature: LitFinder
- Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
- Gale Literature: Something About the Author
- Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines. At present, JSTOR contains a range of Arts & Sciences collections, a multidisciplinary Life Sciences Collection, discipline-specific collections across several fields, and four primary source collections.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection provides access to an extensive collection of ebook titles in various subjects. It includes a broad range of titles, in areas such as arts & architecture, business & economics, computer science, education, engineering & technology, fiction, history, literature & criticism, political science, religion and social sciences.
ProQuest Ebook Central provides a breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including university presses and other top publishers, covering the subjects of Arts, Business, Education, Health and Medicine, History and Political Science, Law, Literature and Language, Religion and Philosophy, Social Science, and Science and Technology.
Wiley Digital Textbooks published by Wiley, currently feature over 20,000 original academic textbooks, covering more than 30 disciplines, including business management, engineering, mathematics, physics, chemistry, life and earth sciences, medical health, social sciences, hospitality management, and humanities.
Loan period: 3 days for each book
Loan quota: 5 titles for each user
Loan period: 3 days for each book
Loan quota: 5 titles for each user
The e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection provides access to over 2,000 e-books in humanities and social sciences. Key subject areas include anthropology, art history and theory, Asian studies, cultural studies, ethnic studies, film and television, gender and sexuality studies, Latin American studies, political theory, and science studies. The collection includes term access to all available backlist titles published by Duke University Press as well as perpetual access to at least 100 new e-books each calendar year.
Gender and Sexuality | Literature and Literary Studies | Linguistics
Gender and Sexuality | Literature and Literary Studies | Linguistics
華藝中文電子書平台收錄了不同出版社授權的數萬本華文電子書， 本館已選購部分電子書，每本電子書均可供數人同時全文閱讀，主題包括經典文學、語言學習、商業經營、政治法律、社會心理、文學小說、醫療保健、藝術設計、電腦資訊、工程數學、歷史、哲學等。
HyRead ebook 是一個台灣電子書平台，提供最新出版學術、專業、休閒及工具書各類書籍，包含人文社會、文學小說、語言學習、財經商管、科學科普、電腦資訊、宗教心靈、醫藥養生、藝術設計、休閒生活、親子童書等各領域的電子書。
英文學習 | 英文檢定
英文學習 | 英文檢定
 |
Teaching literature in translation : pedagogical contexts and reading practices Publication Date : 2023 Call number : 418.020711 TEA 2023 Location : English Book (4/F) |
|
 |
Shakespeare's global sonnets : translation, appropriation, performance Publication Date : 2022 Call number : 822.33 SHA 2023 Location : English Book (5/F) |
|
 |
如果文學很簡單, 我們也不用這麼辛苦 = Nobody says it's easy when we talk about literature Publication Date : 2023 Call number : 812.7 1111 2022 Location : Chinese Book (5/F) |
|
 |
Futurism and the African imagination : literature and other arts Publication Date : 2022 Call number : 809.9114096 FUT 2022 Location : English Book (5/F) |
|
 |
别处的世界 : 早期近代欧洲旅行书写与亚洲形象 Publication Date : 2021 Call number : 819 804 2021 Location : Chinese Book (5/F) |
|
 |
When translation goes digital : case studies and critical reflections Publication Date : 2021 Call number : 418.02 WHE 2021 Location : English Book (4/F) |
|
 |
文学人类学的想象力 Publication Date : 2019 Call number : 810.7 1408 2019 Location : Chinese Book (2/F) |
|
| 文学与图像 = Literature and image Publication Date : 2019 Call number : 812 416 2019 Location : Chinese Book (2/F) |
 |
文學的40堂公開課:從神話到當代暢銷書，文學如何影響我們、帶領我們理解這個世界 Publication Date : 2023 Access via HyRead [ebook] |
|
 |
美國拉丁美裔文學研究論集 Publication Date : 2021 Access via HyRead [ebook] |
|
 |
戰勝英文翻譯與寫作:學好文法, 寫出流暢短文 Publication Date : 2020 Access via HyRead [ebook] |
|
 |
諾貝爾文學獎百年風華 Publication Date : 2020 Access via HyRead [ebook] |
|
 |
二十一世纪的比较文学与世界文学研究 Publication Date : 2020 Access via 華藝電子書 |
|
 |
《二十四诗品》研究：阿列克谢耶夫汉学论集 Publication Date : 2019 Access via 華藝電子書 [ebook] |
|
 |
20世紀英國女性文學探微 Publication Date : 2018 Access via 華藝電子書 [ebook] |
|
 |
中外文學比較 Publication Date : 2000 Access via 華藝電子書 [ebook] |
 |
Communicating Linguistics : Language, Community and Public Engagement Publication Date : 2023 Access via Ebook Central Perpetual [ebook] |
|
 |
State of play : British politics on screen, stage and page, from Anthony Trollope to The thick of it Publication Date : 2023 Access via DOAB Directory of Open Access Books [ebook] |
|
 |
The art of language Publication Date : 2022 Access via EBSCO [ebook] |
|
 |
A Short Media History of English Literature Publication Date : 2022 Access via Ebook Central Perpetual [ebook] |
|
 |
Context in Literary and Cultural Studies Publication Date : 2021 Access via DOAB Directory of Open Access Books [ebook] |
|
 |
Belonging Beyond Borders: Cosmopolitan Affiliations in Contemporary Spanish American Literature Publication Date : 2021 Access via DOAB Directory of Open Access Books [ebook] |
|
 |
Comparative practices : literature, language, and culture in Britain's long eighteenth century Publication Date : 2020 Access via JSTOR Books Open Access [ebook] |
Road to IELTS is the British Council’s comprehensive and online IELTS preparation program. With over 120 hours of interactive activities, advice videos from British Council experts, hints and tips on question types as well as downloadable practice tests, it is comprehensive, up-to-date and aimed precisely at the challenges candidates face. Road to IELTS is suitable for IELTS candidates from band score 4.5 upwards, and for institutions running IELTS preparation courses.
For the first time user of ClarityEnglish, please register here. Steps for register.
For the first time user of ClarityEnglish, please register here. Steps for register.
Practical Writing helps students not just with the essays and reports they have to write in their academic work, but also with the job application, personal profiles and letters they will need to write in their final year.
For the first time user of ClarityEnglish, please register here.
Tense Buster, Clarity's most popular program, helps learners improve their understanding of key grammar areas from some/any at Elementary level to phrasal verbs at Advanced level. The program is ideal as a self-access resource for extension or remedial work, or integrated into a course of study and used for classwork or homework.
For the first time user of ClarityEnglish, please register here.
For the first time user of ClarityEnglish, please register here.
The Learning Network is an education portal by the New York Times. Every day from September through May, The Learning Network shares teaching and learning resources that correspond to articles and other multimedia published on NYTimes.com. Educators can:
- Search for relevant lesson plans by subject area or by current events
- Access writing prompts, contests, discussion forums and quizzes
- Use the "Article of the Day" feature for in-depth discussion questions about current events
The New York Times inEducation has been designed as a resource for students and faculty to connect Times journalism with key areas of study, such as English, Biology, Environmental Science, Leadership and more.
These curated reading lists feature relevant and engaging journalism, from articles to interactives to podcasts to newsletters--fueling discovery and learning for students and educators alike.
InEducation can be used to provide or support:
These curated reading lists feature relevant and engaging journalism, from articles to interactives to podcasts to newsletters--fueling discovery and learning for students and educators alike.
InEducation can be used to provide or support:
- Supplemental reading material for individual courses
- Weekly extra credit exercises
- Research sources for students
- Group discussions
- Extracurricular programming