> Research Guide - Citation Styles, RefWorks & EndNote (Citation Management Tool)

---

---

---

---

---

---

APA (American Psychological Association) style is commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. 

The APA referencing style is an "author-date" style, the citation consists of the author(s) and the year of publication.

There are two parts to referencing:

• Citations within the text of your paper
• Reference list at the end of your paper

Parenthetical Citations
Useauthor-date citation system when it is not easy to use narrative citation, and identify authors' names in-text. Include names, dates, and pages in parentheses. Direct Quote, quote within 1 page Direct Quote, quote 2 pages
Narrative Citations
When you write out the author's name as you write their quote, or paraphrase their work: Direct Quote Direct Quote
For more detail, please visit Parenthetical Versus Narrative In-Text Citations

---

Chicago style is commonly used to cite humanities, sciences, and social sciences sources.

Chicago-style source citations come in two varieties: (1) Notes and Bibliography and (2) Author - Date.

Notes and Bibliography System: Preferred by many working in the humanities (literature, history, and the arts).

• Sources are cited in numbered footnotes or endnotes.
• Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text.
• Sources are also usually listed in a separate bibliography.

Author-Date System: More common in the sciences and social sciences.

• Sources are briefly cited in the text,
• Usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and year of publication.
• Each in-text citation matches up with an entry in a reference list, where full bibliographic information is provided

	Notes	Shortened notes	Bibliography
Book	1. Zadie Smith, Swing Time (New York: Penguin Press, 2016), 315–16.	2. Smith, Swing Time, 320.	Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. New York: Penguin Press, 2016.
	3. Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman, A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life (New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015), 12.	4. Grazer and Fishman, Curious Mind, 37.	Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015.
Chapter or other part of an edited book	1. Henry David Thoreau, “Walking,” in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D’Agata (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 177–78.	2. Thoreau, “Walking,” 182.	Thoreau, Henry David. “Walking.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 167–95. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.
	3. John D’Agata, ed., The Making of the American Essay (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 177–78.	4. D’Agata, American Essay, 182.	D’Agata, John, ed. The Making of the American Essay. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.
Translated book	1. Jhumpa Lahiri, In Other Words, trans. Ann Goldstein (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016), 146.	2. Lahiri, In Other Words, 184.	Lahiri, Jhumpa. In Other Words. Translated by Ann Goldstein. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.
E-book	1. Herman Melville, Moby-Dick; or, The Whale (New York: Harper & Brothers, 1851), 627, http://mel.hofstra.edu/moby-dick-the-whale-proofs.html.	2. Melville, Moby-Dick, 722–23.	Melville, Herman. Moby-Dick; or, The Whale. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1851. http://mel.hofstra.edu/moby-dick-the-whale-proofs.html.
Journal article	1. Susan Satterfield, “Livy and the Pax Deum,” Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (April 2016): 170.	2. Satterfield, “Livy,” 172–73.	Satterfield, Susan. “Livy and the Pax Deum.” Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (April 2016): 165–76.
	3. Shao-Hsun Keng, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem, “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality,” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017): 9–10, https://doi.org/10.1086/690235.	4. Keng, Lin, and Orazem, “Expanding College Access,” 23.	Keng, Shao-Hsun, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem. “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality.” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017): 1–34. https://doi.org/10.1086/690235.
	5. Rachel A. Bay et al., “Predicting Responses to Contemporary Environmental Change Using Evolutionary Response Architectures,” American Naturalist 189, no. 5 (May 2017): 465, https://doi.org/10.1086/691233.	6. Bay et al., “Predicting Responses,” 466.	Bay, Rachael A., Noah Rose, Rowan Barrett, Louis Bernatchez, Cameron K. Ghalambor, Jesse R. Lasky, Rachel B. Brem, Stephen R. Palumbi, and Peter Ralph. “Predicting Responses to Contemporary Environmental Change Using Evolutionary Response Architectures.” American Naturalist 189, no. 5 (May 2017): 463–73. https://doi.org/10.1086/691233.
News or magazine article	1. Rebecca Mead, “The Prophet of Dystopia,” >New Yorker, April 17, 2017, 43.	2. Mead, “Dystopia,” 47.	Manjoo, Farhad. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times, March 8, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
Thesis or dissertation	1. Cynthia Lillian Rutz, “King Lear and Its Folktale Analogues” (PhD diss., University of Chicago, 2013), 99–100.	2. Rutz, “King Lear,” 158.	Rutz, Cynthia Lillian. “King Lear and Its Folktale Analogues.” PhD diss., University of Chicago, 2013.
Website content	1. “Privacy Policy,” Privacy & Terms, Google, last modified April 17, 2017, https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.	2. Google, “Privacy Policy.”	“Privacy Policy.” Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.
	Bouman, Katie. “How to Take a Picture of a Black Hole.” Filmed November 2016 at TEDxBeaconStreet, Brookline, MA. Video, 12:51.	6. Bouman, “Black Hole.”	Bouman, Katie. “How to Take a Picture of a Black Hole.” Filmed November 2016 at TEDxBeaconStreet, rookline, MA. Video, 12:51. https://www.ted.com/talks/katie_bouman_what_does_a_black_hole_look_like.

	In-text citations	Reference list entries
Book	(Grazer and Fishman 2015, 12)	Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. 2015. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life. New York: Simon & Schuster.
	(Smith 2016, 315–16)	Smith, Zadie. 2016. Swing Time. New York: Penguin Press.
Chapter or other part of an edited book	(Thoreau 2016, 177–78)	Thoreau, Henry David. 2016. “Walking.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 167–95. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press.
	(D’Agata 2016, 177–78)	D’Agata, John, ed. 2016. The Making of the American Essay. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press.
Translated book	(Lahiri 2016, 146)	Lahiri, Jhumpa. 2016. In Other Words. Translated by Ann Goldstein. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.
E-book	(Austen 2007, chap. 3)	Austen, Jane. 2007. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics. Kindle.
	(Borel 2016, 92)	Borel, Brooke. 2016. The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. ProQuest Ebrary.
	(Kurland and Lerner 1987, chap. 10, doc. 19)	Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. 1987. The Founders’ Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/
	(Melville 1851, 627)	Melville, Herman. 1851. Moby-Dick; or, The Whale. New York: Harper & Brothers. http://mel.hofstra.edu/moby-dick-the-whale-proofs.html.
Journal article	(Keng, Lin, and Orazem 2017, 9–10)	Keng, Shao-Hsun, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem. 2017. “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality.” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring): 1–34. https://doi.org/10.1086/690235.
	(LaSalle 2017, 95)	LaSalle, Peter. 2017. “Conundrum: A Story about Reading.” New England Review 38 (1): 95–109. Project MUSE.
	(Satterfield 2016, 170)	Satterfield, Susan. 2016. “Livy and the Pax Deum.” Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (April): 165–76.
	(Bay et al. 2017, 465)	Bay, Rachael A., Noah Rose, Rowan Barrett, Louis Bernatchez, Cameron K. Ghalambor, Jesse R. Lasky, Rachel B. Brem, Stephen R. Palumbi, and Peter Ralph. 2017. “Predicting Responses to Contemporary Environmental Change Using Evolutionary Response Architectures.” American Naturalist 189, no. 5 (May): 463–73. https://doi.org/10.1086/691233.
News or magazine article	(Manjoo 2017)	Manjoo, Farhad. 2017. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times, March 8, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
	(Mead 2017, 43)	Mead, Rebecca. 2017. “The Prophet of Dystopia.” New Yorker, April 17, 2017.
	(Pai 2017)	Pai, Tanya. 2017. “The Squishy, Sugary History of Peeps.” Vox, April 11, 2017. http://www.vox.com/culture/2017/4/11/15209084/peeps-easter.
	(Pegoraro 2007)	Pegoraro, Rob. 2007. “Apple’s iPhone Is Sleek, Smart and Simple.” Washington Post, July 5, 2007. LexisNexis Academic.
Thesis or dissertation	(Rutz 2013, 99–100)	Rutz, Cynthia Lillian. 2013. “King Lear and Its Folktale Analogues.” PhD diss., University of Chicago.
Website content	(Bouman 2016)	(Bouman, Katie. 2016. “How to Take a Picture of a Black Hole.” Filmed November 2016 at TEDxBeaconStreet, Brookline, MA. Video, 12:51. https://www.ted.com/talks/katie_bouman_what_does_a_black_hole_look_like.
	(Google 2017)	Google. 2017. “Privacy Policy.” Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.
	(Yale University, n.d.)	Yale University. n.d. “About Yale: Yale Facts.” Accessed May 1, 2017. https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.
Social media content	(Chicago Manual of Style 2015)	Chicago Manual of Style. 2015. “Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993.” Facebook, April 17, 2015. https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.
	(Souza 2016)	Souza, Pete (@petesouza). 2016. “President Obama bids farewell to President Xi of China at the conclusion of the Nuclear Security Summit.” Instagram photo, April 1, 2016. https://www.instagram.com/p/BDrmfXTtNCt/.

中文的引文格式尚未有統一的標準，以下例子只供參考之用。同學應按學科指定的引文格式編寫文章，如有疑問請向老師查詢。

ProQuest RefWorks is a web-based research management tool that allow users to:

• build and manage personal citation databases
• import references from various databases available via the Library
• generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles
• create in-text citations
• export bibliographies in several document types

 
To access ProQuest RefWorks, first-time users are required to sign up for an individual account.      

1. sign up ProQuest RefWorks
2. Login to My Account - ProQuest RefWorks
    

Instruction Videos:
Accessing RefWorks, Creating an Account, and Logging in  
RefWorks Basic Functionality 
Exporting References to RefWorks 
Creating References and Adding Documents Within RefWorks 
Editing References in RefWorks  
 

EndNote is a bibliographical management software package designed to help you to organize bibliographic references and create a bibliography. EndNote allows you to search, retrieve relevant citations, and build your bibliography, all within one program.
 
Note

1. Users working on-campus can access EndNote from all public PCs (Except 15mins Express Printing Stations) available in Library (2/F-6/F).

Download EndNote Choose the operating system of your computer. Download EndNote software.
 
Windows

1. EndNote 21 (Windows) [Installation & User Guide for Windows]

Mac

1. EndNote 21 (macOS) | [Installation & User Guide for MacOS]

Web

1. EndNote (Web)

Click to learn how to use EndNote
What's new in EndNote 21 - YouTube