Menu

Home > Research Guide - E-resources Week 2024

E-resources Week 2024 - Join Workshops and Win Prizes

Welcome to E-resources Week 2024 at HKSYU Library! Throughout the week, a diverse range of activities will be available for our staff and students to engage in, including:

1. Workshops
Participate in workshops to acquire efficient search techniques and up-to-date knowledge for utilizing e-resources.
 
2. Take-home: Evaluation, Quiz, and Prizes
➤ Get stationery and specific souvenirs by participanting each workshop.
➤ Have a chance to win fabulous prizes by attending a workshop, participating in an online quiz, and filling out an evaluation form!
 
We look forward to your participation in E-resources Week 2024, where you can explore the various resources provided by the HKSYU Library.

For enquiries, please contact: libinfo@hksyu.edu.
 
Workshop Schedule
Date Time Topic Speaker Language Organization / Database Handout Recording
23 Sep
(Mon)		 10:00 - 11:30 am Gale: Digital Sources for Historical Research
Mr. Alfred Ng 
(Senior Regional Sales Manager)
 English Download View
2:00 - 3:30 pm 超星系列數據庫：查找中文電子資源 Ms. Ting Fu
(超星集團海外部)		 Mandarin N/A View
24 Sep
(Tue)		 10:00 - 11:00 am Effective Legal Research with Westlaw Asia Ms. Iris Zhang 
(Customer Product Trainer, Thomson Reuters)		 English Download View
2:00 - 3:30 pm Effective Legal Research with Lexis China Mr. Timothy Ho and Ms. Susan Wu 
(Trainer of LexisNexis)		 English N/A View
25 Sep
(Wed)		 10:00 - 11:30 am The Holistic Approach to Your Research on Sage Mr. Cheng Pang Kao, Jim
(SAGE Publishing)		 English Download View
2:00 - 3:30 pm Mastering EBSCO Database: Effective Search Strategies and Advanced Research Techniques Mr. Evan Shih 
(Senior Training Specialist)		 English Download View
26 Sep
(Thu)		 10:00 - 11:30 am Using Statista's Customer Market, Industry, and Company Data and Analysis for Your Research   Mr. Wenchong Zhou English Download View
2:00 - 3:30 pm 認識中國知網 — 中文文獻檢索及應用 Ms. Serena Fu
(同方知网（北京）技术有限公司深圳分公司)		 Mandarin Download View
27 Sep
(Fri)		 10:00 - 11:30 am Research for Different Subject Criteria on ProQuest Databases Mr. Gary Man 
(Customer Education Trainer)		 English Download View
2:00 - 3:30 pm Accessing Resources Across a Wide Range of Subject Areas in Oxford Databases Ms. Chen Zhou
(Regional Customer Training and Implementation Manager)		 English N/A View
The registration will close 30 minutes before the workshop starts. 

On-site workshop
Workshop sessions at the LC602 Digital Imaging Lab (6/F, Library) and Room 309 in the Main Academic Building have restrictions of 30 attendees and 39 attendees respectively on a first-come, first-served basis. Registration for each session will close once the maximum number of registrations is reached.

For attendees participating in the physical workshop, you will receive a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable or Phone Stand as a gift.

              OR         

Zoom workshop
Zoom link and reminder email will send to attendees before the workshop.

For enquiries, please contact: libinfo@hksyu.edu
Gale: Digital Sources for Historical Research
Date: 23 September 2024 (Monday)
Time: 10:00 – 11:30 am
Venue: On-site (Main Academic Building, Room 309) and Online (Zoom)
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:

➤ In this workshop, the subscribed Gale databases will be introduced, including the Gale Digital Scholar Lab. You will explore how to conduct statistical and natural language analysis on thousands of historical texts, such as newspaper backfiles and government documents, using the Gale Digital Scholar Lab.

➤ Additionally, the Gale Primary Sources cover specific sub-databases, such as China and the Modern World, while the State Papers Online Colonial includes Asia, Part I: Far East, Hong Kong, and Wei-Hai-Wei, as well as Asia, Part II: Singapore, East Malaysia, and Brunei.

➤ Moreover, other useful features of the subscribed Gale databases will be highlighted.

Participants attending the ON-SITE workshop will receive HKSYU Library souvenirs: either a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable or a Phone Stand.
超星系列數據庫：查找中文電子資源
日期︰2024年9月23日 (星期一)
時間︰下午2時至3時30分
地點︰線上(Zoom)
語言︰普通話
內容︰

➤ 介紹圖書館已訂購的超星數據庫產品，包括：讀秀學術搜索、大成老舊刊全文數據庫、Chinamaxx超星中文電子書庫及其研究價值。

➤ 如何在已訂購的資料庫中有效搜尋所需文獻，包括電子書和各類文章等。

➤ 如何提高檢索效率與質量。

➤ 其他建議項目。
Effective Legal Research with Westlaw Asia
Date: 24 September 2024 (Tuesday)
Time: 10:00 – 11:00 am
Venue: On-site (Main Academic Building, Room 309) and Online (Zoom)
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:

➤ Introduction to Westlaw Asia

    • Homepage Search
    • Cases Search
    • Legislation Search
    • Law Reviews
    • Treaties and Directories
    • Other Relevant Advanced Features and Functions of the Subscribed Platform

➤ Q&A Session

Participants attending the ON-SITE workshop will receive HKSYU Library souvenirs: either a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable or a Phone Stand.
Effective Legal Research with Lexis China
Date: 24 September 2024 (Tuesday)
Time: 2:00 – 3:30 pm
Venue: On-site (Library Complex, LC602 Digital Imaging Lab) and Online (Zoom)
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:

➤ Introduction to Lexis China

➤ Demonstration of how to search for PRC cases, legislation, regulations, and more

➤ Empowering users with the skills to effectively navigate the extensive range of primary and secondary sources of PRC law and utilize critical functions and features

➤ Other relevant advanced features and functions of the subscribed platform

➤ Q&A Session

Participants attending the ON-SITE workshop will receive HKSYU Library souvenirs: either a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable or a Phone Stand.
The Holistic Approach to Your Research on Sage
Date: 25 September 2023 (Wednesday)
Time: 10:00  – 11:30 am
Venue: On-site (Library Complex, LC602 Digital Imaging Lab) and Online (Zoom)
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:

➤ Introduction to Sage Research Method Suite

➤ Guiding users from the start to the finish of a research project

➤ Introducing special research tools such as Methods Map, Project Planner, reading lists, etc.

➤ Guiding users in using SAGE Research Methods to find high-quality articles and resources on research methods

➤ Allowing users to explore new research techniques

➤ Providing access to case studies suitable for their level (e.g., undergraduate, postgraduate)

➤ Including any other suggested suitable items

Participants attending the ON-SITE workshop will receive HKSYU Library souvenirs: either a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable or a Phone Stand.
Mastering EBSCO Database: Effective Search Strategies and Advanced Research Techniques
Date: 25 September 2024 (Wednesday)
Time: 2:00 – 3:30 pm
Venue: On-site (Main Academic Building, Room 309) and Online (Zoom)
Medium of Instruction:English
Content:

➤ Introduction to the subscribed EBSCOhost databases

➤ Introducing and demonstrating useful search techniques and features (such as subject headings and filters) in EBSCOhost databases to help users find information quickly

➤ Guiding users in navigating the EBSCOhost databases to search for literature effectively

➤ Assisting users in navigating the interface, constructing effective search queries, utilizing advanced search features, managing references, and exploring additional tools like the mobile app

Participants attending the ON-SITE workshop will receive HKSYU Library souvenirs: either a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable or a Phone Stand.
Using Statista's Customer Market, Industry, and Company Data and Analysis for Your Research
Date: 26 September 2024 (Thursday)
Time: 10:00 – 11:30 am
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:

➤ Practical tips on how to conduct research more efficiently and access Statista's wide range of data.

➤ Different content types in Statista, ranging from market insights and outlooks to industry and company reports.

➤ Consumer Insights, an interactive module for analyzing consumer-level data by country and demographic.

➤ Introduction to new features such as Research AI.

➤ Q&A Session.

➤ Any other business.
認識中國知網 — 中文文獻檢索及應用
日期︰2024年9月26日 (星期四)
時間︰下午2時至3時30分
地點︰ 面授工作坊 (教學大樓, 309室) 和線上 (Zoom)
語言︰普通話
內容︰

➤ 簡介圖書館已訂購的中國知網數據庫及其研究價值。

➤ 如何在數據庫中查找所需文獻，並跟蹤前沿熱點文章和期刊 —— CNKI - 中國期刊全文數據庫 (哲學與人文科學、社會科學Ⅰ輯、社會科學Ⅱ輯、經濟與管理科學), CNKI - 中國學術輯刊全文數據庫 (文史哲專輯)。

凡參加實體工作坊可獲得3合1充電線膠囊或手機支架一個！
Research for Different Subject Criteria on ProQuest Databases
Date: 27 September 2024 (Friday)
Time: 10:00 – 11:30 am
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:

➤ Covering the subscribed ProQuest databases for those studying and researching in the fields of Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, and other multidisciplinary areas.

➤ Understanding the value of "ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection," "ProQuest Entrepreneurship," "ProQuest Literature Online," and "ProQuest Central," while applying effective search strategies to find desired research.

➤ A demonstration of the special features and functions for searching keywords in the ProQuest databases.

➤ Other relevant advanced features and functions available on the subscribed platform.

➤ Q&A Session.
Accessing Resources Across a Wide Range of Subject Areas in Oxford Databases
Date: 27 September 2024 (Friday)
Time: 2:00 – 3:30 pm
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:

➤ An overview of the subscribed Oxford databases.

➤ Guiding users in using features such as search, browse by subject, and reference type to uncover the hidden riches of the Oxford databases (i.e., Oxford Academic, Oxford Bibliographies, Oxford English Dictionary, World Shakespeare Bibliography Online).

➤ How to search the resources more effectively based on specific subject criteria (i.e., Sociology, Psychology, Business, Literature, Languages, Social Work, etc.).

➤ Any other suggested suitable items.
日期︰2023年9月22日 (星期五)
時間︰下午4時至下午5時30分
地點︰Zoom
語言︰英語
內容︰
  • 簡介仁大圖書館提供的 EBSCOhost電子資料庫
  • 如何善用 EBSCOhost進行檢索、修正研究、查看資料和檢索記錄
  • 在 EBSCOhost進行基本和進階檢索 使用EBSCOhost的重要性，各個主題涵蓋內容的標準
  • 管理檢索得到的資料：如何保存、打印、通過電子郵件發送和匯出資料
  • 使用「My EBSCOhost folder」取得新通知和分享文件夾等
  • 了解更多關於EBSCOhost的支援

Date: 22 September 2023 (Friday)
Time: 4:00 pm – 5:30 pm
Venue: Zoom
Medium of Instruction: English
Content:
  • Briefly mention the subscribed EBSCOhost platforms names
  • How to search, refine research, view results and records in EBSCOhost databases
  • Basic and advanced searches examples
  • How important for the users to use EBSCOhost databases and what subject's criteria are covered
  • Managing the results: how to save, print, send by email and export good results
  • My EBSCOhost folder: the door to alerts, shared folders etc.
  • More about EBSCO support
日期︰2023年9月22日 (星期五)
時間︰下午5時45分至下午6時45分
地點︰圖書館6樓 及 Zoom
語言︰粵語
內容︰工作坊會介紹圖書館的中文電子資料庫，包括︰ 凡參加實體工作坊可獲得3合1充電線膠囊一份！ 

Date: 22 September 2023 (Friday)
Time: 5:45 pm – 6:45 pm
Venue: 6/F Library and Zoom
Medium of Instruction: Cantonese
Content:
The Workshop introduce Chinese electronic databases in the library.

Participants attending the physical workshops will receive a Capsule 3-in-1 Charging Cable!
Online Quiz 線上問答贏獎品
1. To be eligible for a prize draw, you MUST participate in at least one workshop (on-site or online), fill out an evaluation form, and complete an online quiz. 
必須出席至少一個工作坊（實體或線上）、填寫問卷並完成線上測驗才合資格參加抽獎。

We encourage participants to fill out an evaluation form after each workshop to provide valuable feedback, but each participant may submit only one online quiz for the prize draw.
我們鼓勵參加者在每個工作坊完成後填寫問卷以提供寶貴意見，但每位參與者只能提交一份完成的線上問答來參加抽獎。

2. Please use the link or scan the QR code to fill in the evaluation form: https://forms.office.com/r/usJLsHVvfv?origin=lprLink
    請使用連結或掃描 QR 碼填寫問卷：https://forms.office.com/r/usJLsHVvfv?origin=lprLink



3. Please use the link or scan the QR code to join the quiz: https://forms.office.com/r/kwvV44HEwX?origin=lprLink
    請使用連結或掃描 QR 碼加入測驗：https://forms.office.com/r/kwvV44HEwX?origin=lprLink



Submission period: 23 Sep 2024, 11:30 am – 4 Oct 2024, 11:59 pm.
活動日期：2024年9月23日上午11:30至2024年10月4日晚上11:59。

Result will be announced on 31 October 2024. The gift recipients will be notified by email.
結果將於2024年10月31日公佈，圖書館會通過電子郵箱通知獲獎者，有參加活動的參加者記得查收電子郵箱。

Gift recipient must present his/her valid student/staff card to redeem the gift in person at HKSYU Library within the redemption period. 
獲獎者必須在兌換期內攜帶有效的學生/職員證到香港樹仁大學圖書館親自兌換獎品

For enquiries, please contact: libinfo@hksyu.edu
Prize
  Prize Quantity Sponsor Winner
1st iPad Mini (Wi-Fi, 64GB) 1 EBSCOhost 23**29 / B* M* M*
2nd Apple Watch SE (40mm) 1 Gale 20**21 / P* Y*
3rd AirPods (3rd generation - Lightning Charging Case) 1 Chinamaxx 超星 0**5 / L* Y* Y*
4th iPad Apple Pencil (2nd generation) 1 Statista 24**43 / W* K* L*
5th 小米手環5 1 CNKI 1**2 / S* H* K*, H*
 6th Wireless Charger 1 LexisNexis 22**05 / L* Z*Y*
7th Wireless Charger 1 Clarivate 23**66 / P* Y* S*
8th Starbucks Gift Card ($200) 3 Cambridge University Press 24**05 / C* R*H*
0**8 / W* C* P*
23**26 / S* Z*X*
9th Laptop Bags 3 Oxford 0**3 / L* H* P*, B*
23**09 / S* Z*Y*
23**58 / X* Y*H*
10th Stay Hot Keep Cold Bottle (500 ml) 5 Qualtrics 0**9 / L* M* C*
23**73 / C* H* Y*
22**28 / W* R*
23**33 / M* M* K*
24**11 / Y* Z*H*
11th Wall Mug Sleek 5 American Psychological Association 23**68 /  C* Y* L*, M*
22**07 / S* J*M*
0**0 / C* X*L*
0**6 / T* S* L*, Z*
23**11 / N* P*H*
12th 小夜貓閱讀袋著走 (飲料袋) 2 HyRead 23**45 / C* Y* P*
22**53 / K* S* T*
13th Rhino Doll 2 Emerald 24***3M / J* S*T*
24**28 / W* S* T*
14th Schedule Memo Packs 18 Emerald 24**04 / L* C*Y*
22**21 / L* S*N*
0**1 / L* T* L*, C*
21**62 / C* S* S*
24**10 / Z* J*X*
23**01 / Y* L*S*
0**9 / M* T* T*, A*
24**06 / C* S*H*
24**68 / Z* T* M*
24**02 / F* X*K*
24***5D / C* F*
23**46 / C* S* C*
22**50 / L* W* M*
0**4 / T* S* L*
0**5 / I* W* E*
0**2 / L* W* Y*
24**20 / Y* S*K*
21**10 / C* K* H*
15th Colorful Sticky Note 21 Sage 23**39 / C* Z*F*
24**64 / S* Y* S*
23**02 / G* C*
24**45 / L* K* W*
0**8 / W* K* Y*
21**16 / W* M* K*
0**3 / T* Q*Y*
24**09 / P* Y*B*
22**05 / C* T* C*
24**17 / Z* J*Y*
23**14 / Y* Z*X*
24**88 / X* H*S*
22**10 / T* H* M*
0**9 / Z* Y*Y*, J*
23**95 / W* T* S*
0**8 / I* T* F, R*
23**02 / C* H*
24**09 / Y* P* Y*
22**15 / S* J*Y*
23**71 / A* K* Y*
22**37 / H* X*X*
  Prize Quantity Sponsor(s) Winner
1st iPad (9th generation) Wi-Fi 64 GB - Gray 1 超星 23***8M / T* H* L*
2 nd Apple Watch (40mm + GPS) 2 Gale, Airiti 22**28 / W* R*
22**34 / Y* C* E*
3 rd BOOX Poke4 Lite 6" E-book Reader 1 Taylor & Francis 23**03 / T* X*
4 th iPad Pencil 1 Statista 22**43 / C* K* M*
5 th Wireless Headphone 1 Emerald 21**52 / C* W* I*
6 th Mi Smart Band 5 1 CNKI 23***4M / J* H* 
7 th Guitar Shape USB + 
City Super Vouchers $100		 5 CNKI + ProQuest / ExLibris 22***2M / C* W* S*
21**62 / C* S* S*
22**11 / W*R*
23**14 / Y* Z*
0**2 / Y* W* M*
8 th Starbucks Vouchers $200 2 Cambridge 0**0 / C* X*
0**3 / T* Q*
9 th City Super Vouchers $100 10 ProQuest / ExLibris 20**90 / N* Y* M*
22**03 / Q* K*
22**62 / L* Y* Y*
21***1D / K* S* H*
22**08 / Z* Z*
21**08 / L* F* L*
21**14 / T* S* C*
23**38 / C* Y* L*
22**80 / L* K* Y*
4**5 / L* Y* Y*
10 th PARKNSHOP Vouchers $50 6 Clarity English 22**22 / N* Y* C*
0**5 / L* L*
23**26 / C* K* L*
22**58 / Y* C* T*
23***1M / Y* H*
23**29 / M* B* M*
11 th Wireless Charger 1 Lexis 23**35 / C* C* K*
12 th Vacuum Bottles 5 Qualtrics 22**19 / L* L* I*
23**58 / X* Y*
22**44 / F* C* Y*
20**35 / K* H* Y*
23**27 / T* W* T*
13 th Vacuum Cups 5 Cambridge 23***6M / B* W*
22**04 / L* Y*
22**23 / K* S* M*
22**07 / L* S*
0**9 / Z* Y*
14 th Gift Set (Pen, Notebook, Color Sticky Box) 20 APA, McGrawHill, Sage 22**21 / L* S*
21**42 / W* S* N*
22**50 / H* K*
23**66 / S* K* C*
20**01 / H* D*
23**23 / L* Y* Y*
21***2M / C* Y* M*
21**54 / S* A* T* C*
21**01 / Y* P* Y*
0**6 / T* S* L*
20**58 / L* T* K*
23**46 / L* Y*
0**8 / L* S* C*
22**18 / N* Y* C*
23**59 / C* M* Y*
23**14 / L* T* N*
22**50 / L* W* M*
0**2 / L* W* Y*
0**3 / L* H* P*
0**3 / T* T* K*