> Subject Guide - Sociology

• 

       Bloomsbury Food Library offers cross-searchable access to a range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, and images. Search across numerous ebooks, and key reference works such as Ken Albala’s Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia, the Cambridge World History of Food, Bloomsbury’s Cultural History of Food, and chapters from Food History: Critical and Primary Sources. Explore image collections from institutions such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, USA.
 

•  EBSCO: ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS

        ATLA Religion Database combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. ATLAS PLUS contains a more than 450 full text titles, including all ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) titles and content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
 

•  EBSCO: Bibliography of Asian Studies

        Bibliography of Asian Studies™ (BAS), the most comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia, contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
 

•  EBSCO: Family Studies Abstracts

        Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
 

•  EBSCO: Sociology Source Ultimate

        Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying aspects of human behavior and interaction. Coverage of topics ranges from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
 

• Scopus

           Abstract and citation database of research literature. Contents include scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, professional publications, and conference proceedings. Have tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
 

• Social Theory

         Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the      complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. This final release features more than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith, and Talcott Parsons.
 

• Sociological Abstracts

         Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts,    cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
 

•  Social Science Research Network

        Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a worldwide collaborative of over 352,400 authors and more than 2.2 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research. Founded in 1994, it is now composed of a number of specialized research networks. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by reviewing and distributing submitted abstracts and full text papers from scholars around the world. SSRN encourages readers to communicate directly with other subscribers and authors concerning their own and other's research. Through our email abstract eJournals we currently reach over 400,000 people in approximately 140 different countries.
SSRN's email abstract eJournals cover over 1,000 different subject areas. The Abstract Database contains information on well over 756,400 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers. The eLibrary currently contains over 639,200 downloadable electronic documents in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. Our users are downloading over 12 million full text papers annually.
 

Users can also use the below general databases to retrieve scholarly articles and book chapters on sociology and other related disciplines.
 

•  e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection

 

•  EBSCO: Academic Search Ultimate

 

•  Cambridge Journals Online: Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS)

 

•  JSTOR: Arts & Science

 

•  ProQuest Central

 

•  Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities Library

 

•  DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)  (open-access)