> Database Guide - Gale Databases

Gale eBooks
Offers users a hassle-free eBook experience, anytime, anywhere, on any device.

Users can browse extensive coverage in these subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Library Science, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, Social Science, Technology etc. 

Gale Academic OneFile
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research. 


Gale Research Complete
Search across Gale Research Complete resources, including periodicals, literature, primary sources, eBooks, business, and more.

Gale OneFile: News
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields. 


National Geographic Virtual Library
Browse this cross-searchable platform for research insight from journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery. 

• Single Platform Text and Data Mining (TDM) Environment
• Create bespoke content sets
• Cloud-Hosted, Optimized Data
• Tools familiar to the DH community

• Step 1: Build Your Content Sets
  Gather your research materials into a Content Set by finding documents from Gale Primary Sources databases or by uploading your own plain text documents.
   
• Step 2: Clean Texts and Prepare for Analysis
  Use options like stop word lists and text correction for the removal or replacement of specified characters and terms to prepare for analysis.
   
• Step 3: Analyze Content Sets with Powerful Tools
  Use digital tools to analyze your Content Sets. Explore dynamic visualizations in Gale Digital Scholar Lab, and download a range of raw data and images.

---

6 tools for data analysis

• Document Clustering
  Analyzes documents using statistical measures and groups them to determine similarity between each document in your content set.
  
   
• Named Entity Recognition
  Recognizes and extracts proper and common nouns from documents and outputs them as lists grouped by entity types, such as people, organizations, companies, locations, and more.
  
   
• Ngrams
  Counts and displays the frequency of terms within content sets as a “word cloud,” based on the number of terms (“n”) the user wishes to consider.
  
   
• Parts of Speech
  Uses natural language processing of syntax to recognize and tag various parts of speech, providing users with the building blocks for viewing how phrases are constructed.
  
   
• Sentiment Analysis
  Assigns an overall sentiment to each document in a content set by assigning positive and negative values to each term and then averaging those scores.
  
   
• Topic Modeling
  Allows users to analyze a large collection of unstructured text and groups terms into “topics” that co-occur frequently.
  

---

Materials to support the utilization of Gale Digital Scholar Lab on campus to expand digital humanities research and literacy:

1.  Gale Research Showcase
   It is an open-access repository of student-written digital scholarship. Explore text and data mining projects created in Gale Digital Scholar Lab at Gale Research Showcase, you can get inspired and guidance for developing your own project in Gale Digital Scholar Lab.
    
2. Learning Center
   ​It gives users the tools and support they need to understand and employ the vast amount of information and skill sets available through the Lab. It includes videos with live walkthroughs conducted by Gale's digital humanities specialists, sample projects, glossaries, FAQs, User Guidelines and much more. 

 
Gale Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, Gale Primary Sources allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.

Our Library's subscribed databases include the below:

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the university level. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Collections are chosen based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

 
Associated Press Collections Online brings to life historical events from around the globe with award-winning news coverage, imagery, and behind-the-scenes context. A vast presentation of the history and back story of the venerable Associated Press—decades worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more—the Associated Press Collections Online meets the research needs of a variety of disciplines, including journalism, history, women's studies, political science, sociology, business, and more.

China and the Modern World is a series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world. The series covers a period of about 180 years (1800s to 1980s) and consists of various historical documents, such as monographs, manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and letters, historical photos, ephemera, etc. 

China and the Modern World is available in eight parts.

1. Diplomacy and Political Secrets, 1869–1950
2. Hong Kong, Britain, and China, Part I: 1841–1951
3. Hong Kong, Britain, and China, Part II: 1965–1993
4. Imperial China and the West, Part I: 1815–1881
5. Imperial China and the West, Part II: 1865–1905
6. Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals, 1817–1949
7. Records of Shanghai and the International Settlement, 1836–1955
8. Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China, 1854–1949

The Economist Historical Archive presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Financial Times Historical Archive delivers a near-complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2010 (part 1), 2016 (part 2), and 2021 (part 3). Every article, advertisement, and market listing is included—shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 covers a wide range of subject areas in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries making it an invaluable resource for multi-disciplinary research.

The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Entirely full-text searchable with high-quality digital imaging from flat unbound print sets, it combines information and the power of pictures to provide a unique perspective on virtually every aspect of modern life and those who helped shape it over more than 160 years. 

The International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 features the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Asia and the West illustrates the interaction between Asia and the West through a variety of rich source material, predominantly including US State Department consular and diplomatic records, British Foreign Office political correspondence, missionary correspondence and journals, and socio-economic journals.

State Papers Online Colonial is a digitization program of the Colonial Office files of the British Government. This programme starts with Asia, covering the British Colonies: Hong Kong, Wei-Hai-Wei, Ceylon, Malaya, Singapore and Borneo. It is their administration and governance, and their relations with surrounding countries in the region and across the globe that are the subject of the documents.
 
The library’s subscribed content includes:

1. State Papers Online Colonial: Asia, Part 1: Far East, Hong Kong and Wei-Hai-Wei
2. State Papers Online Colonial: Asia, Part 2: Singapore, East Malaysia, and Brunei

The Sunday Times Historical Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers, and culture of the last two centuries. Boasting some 3.5 million articles and more than 800,000 digitized pages, this archive is an important resource for the humanities and social sciences, especially in history, media studies, journalism, literature, cultural studies, politics, and theater. The collection is also a valuable resource for family history and genealogy.

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers to search and view the most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. All articles included in The Times Digital Archive are displayed as digital page images and all allow full-text searching. 

The Times Educational Supplement (TES) is one of the most well-regarded primary and secondary education news sources. Founded a handful of years before the onset of World War I, TES became the leading publication on public policy and pedagogical practice over the decades, not only in the United Kingdom but worldwide.

In this archive there are more than 4,300 issues where researchers will find ample material that support research in the fields of education, social history, women's studies, public health, literature and the arts, and other topics in the humanities and social sciences.

Times Literary Supplement (TLS) offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications in a variety of languages. Many of the world's leading writers, critics, and thinkers have contributed to the TLS, making it a rich resource for following the developments of debate, opinion, and perspective from the early twentieth century through the present.

 
Gale Business: Insights explore the world's companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more. Users can access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape.

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. Experience an easy-to-browse interface mapped to four key stages—plan, fund, start, and manage—to fit your research needs at any point in your business's development.

Gale OneFile: Business provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily.

Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.

Gale Literature allows researchers, faculty and students to search across library subscribed Gale literature databases to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.

The Library subscribed collection include the below databases:

1. 
   Contemporary Authors
   Find the biographies and bibliographies of thousands of U.S. and international authors. Continuously updated.
    
2. 
   Dictionary of Literary Biography
   Explore the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres; multi-series.
    
3. 
   Literature Criticism
   Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
    
4. 
   Literature Resource Center
   Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
    
5. 
   LitFinder
   Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more.
    
6. 
   Scribner Writer Series
   Browse original scholarly essays on authors from around the world. Places authors and their works in personal and historical context.
    
7. 
   Something About the Author
   Examine the lives and works of children and young adult authors and illustrators.
    
8. 
   Twayne's Author Series
   Find in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers. Includes influences of literary movements.
    

Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology. 

Gale Interactive provides visual tools that allow users to zoom, rotate, and explore models to engage with science beyond static text. Creating a fully engaging experience, Gale Interactive is helpful for in-classroom demonstrations or to help students individually gain a deeper understanding of science concepts.

Our Library's subscribed databases include the below:

1. 
   Gale Interactive: Chemistry
   Explore core concepts in depth and with interactive models aligned to the scope and sequence of introductory college chemistry classes.
    
2.  
   Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
   An innovative learning aid that lets students examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research. These powerful tools can be used for in-classroom demonstrations or help with homework and research assignments.
   
   Please Note: Gale Interactive can only access inside the campus.

Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN. It includes more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals (more than 8,000 in full text), and major reference sets including Gale Encyclopaedia of Science and Encyclopaedia of World Biography.

Gale Research Complete streamline the student and researcher workflow by enabling users to access millions of pages of primary sources and e-reference and periodical content on a Gale’s platforms. Combining e-reference content from Gale, Journal Citation Report (JCR), quality periodicals, literary criticism, and full-text literary works as well as rare primary source content, every student and researcher will find a rich store of relevant information to enhance their learning and research.

Gale OneFile provides instant access to complete, up-to-date content on virtually any topic to researchers. With extensive coverage across multiple subject areas and tools, this platform helps learners in finding accurate information and articles with ease, in both PDF and HTML formats.

---

Platform Features & Tools

• ​Collaboration Tools
  Integrated G Suite for Education and Microsoft Office 365 tools enable users to share, save, and download content—including highlights and notes.
   
• Citation Tools
  Integrated directly into the user’s workflow, formatted citations can be easily imported from single or multiple documents to services like EasyBib or NoodleTools. MLA, APA, and Chicago-style citations are supported.
   
• On-Demand Translation
  Content translation is available in 23 languages and platform translation in 34 languages—on-screen and read aloud.

---

Our Library's collection covers below subjects:

• Agriculture
• Business
• Communications and Mass Media
• Computer Science
• Culinary Arts
• Diversity Studies
• Economics and Theory
• Educator's Reference Complete
• Entrepreneurship
• Environmental Studies and Policy
• Fine Arts
• Gardening and Horticulture
• Gender Studies
• Health and Medicine
• Home Improvement
• Hospitality and Tourism
• Information Science
• Insurance and Liability
• Leadership and Management
• Military and Intelligence
• News
• Nursing and Allied Health
• Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
• Pop Culture Studies
• Popular Magazines
• Psychology
• Religion and Philosophy
• Science
• U.S. History
• Vocations and Careers
• War and Terrorism
• World History

Gale In Context provides contextual information on different today's most significant topics. Users can read or watch to get the facts with articles, videos, charts, images and infographics, and more. 

---

Platform Features & Tools

• ​Collaboration Tools
  Integrated G Suite for Education and Microsoft Office 365 tools enable users to share, save, and download content—including highlights and notes.
   
• Citation Tools
  Integrated directly into the user’s workflow, formatted citations can be easily imported from single or multiple documents to services like EasyBib or NoodleTools. MLA, APA, and Chicago-style citations are supported.
   
• On-Demand Translation
  Content translation is available in 23 languages and platform translation in 34 languages—on-screen and read aloud.

---

Our Library's collection covers the below topics:

1. 
   Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
   Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
    
2. 
   Gale In Context: Global Issues
   Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
3. 
   Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
   Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
4. 
   Gale In Context: Science
   Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more.
5. 
   ​Gale In Context: World History
   Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.

• Archives Unbound
• Digital Scholar Lab
• Gale Academic OneFile
• Gale Literature
• Gale Primary Sources
• Gale Research Complete
• Gale Tools - Cite