Subject Guide - Economics and Finance

Table of Contents

Finding Books and eBooks

Library Catalog Relevant EBook Collections Useful Subject Keywords

Library Catalog

Self Financing Institution Libraries
Union catalog of five self-funding institutions including SYU

HKALL - JULAC
Union catalog of JULAC institutions in Hong Kong

WorldCat.org: The World's Largest Library Catalog
Union catalog of libraries around the world

Relevant EBook Collections

AiritiBooks (Chinese eBooks)

DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)

DOAB
(Directory of Open Access Books)

HyRead ebook (Chinese eBooks)

Oxford Scholarship Online

Hong Kong Scholarship Online

Useful Subject Keywords

Library users may use the below LC subject keywords to locate books or eBooks.

Bank management
Banks and banking
Budget in business
Business enterprises -- Finance
Business planning
China -- Commerce
China -- Commercial policy
China -- Foreign economic relations
Commercial policy
Comparative economics
Consolidation and merger of corporations
Corporations -- Finance
Cost accounting
Decision making
Derivative securities
Development economics
Economics
Economics -- Mathematical models
Economics -- Statistical methods
Economics, Mathematical
Econometrics
Economic development
Economic forecasting
Economic policy
Employment (Economic theory)
Environmental economics
Finance
Financial engineering
Financial futures
Financial institutions -- China -- Hong Kong
Fiscal policy
Futures
Game theory
Hong Kong (China) -- Commerce
Hong Kong (China) -- Economic conditions
Industrial policy
Industries -- China -- Hong Kong
International business enterprises -- Finance
International economic relations
International finance
International trade
Investment analysis
Labor economics
Land use
Law and economics
Macroeconomics
Managerial accounting
Managerial economics
Microeconomics
Monetary policy
Money market
Options (Finance)
Portfolio management
Property
Regional economics
Risk management
Stock exchanges
Urban economics
Regional economics
Foreign exchange

Table of Contents

Finding e-Journal Articles

English e-journals Chinese e-journals

English e-journals

Cambridge Journals Online: Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS)
The Humanities and Social Sciences package includes areas such as economics, business and management, language and linguistics, politics and international relations, literature, social studies, etc.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ provides free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects including Business and Economics, History and Archaeology, Languages and Literatures, Philosophy and Religion, as well as Social Sciences, etc.
EBSCO: Business Source Ultimate
This source contains 8,000 full-text sources including 2,100 peer-reviewed journals in all aspects of business areas. It also contains some non-journal contents such as case studies, country economic reports, company profiles, and interviews of company executives or key players of particular industry.
EBSCO: EconLit with Full Text
Developed by the American Economic Association, EconLit is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature.
Emerald Accounting, Finance and Economics eJournal Collection
Contains 39 full-text peer-reviewed journals on accounting, finance and economics.
JSTOR: Arts & Science I
JSTOR is an e-journal collection contains 119 journal titles on economics, history, political science, sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Central
This database includes periodical and newspaper articles over 160 subject areas such as business, economics, arts and humanities, religion, as well as education.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database of research literature. Contents include scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, professional publications, and conference proceedings. Have tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Social Science Research Network
This open-access resource consists of two sub-sections: “Abstracts Database” and “Electronic Paper”. “Abstract Database” consists of over 210,000 abstracts of scholarly working papers and “Electronic Paper” contains over 174,500 downloadable full-text articles. Subjects includes: accounting, economics, law, finance, management, etc.
Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities Library
This full-text e-journal collection contains over 1,000 scholarly titles in various disciplines of Humanities and Social Sciences including Business, Management & Economics.

Chinese e-journals

China Academic Journals Full-text Database 中國期刊全文數據庫
中國期刊全文數據庫是一個大規模集成中國大陸各學科中、英文專業核心期刊和專業特色期刊的全文數據庫。收錄期刊數目前已達8,000餘種，學科內容分為十個專輯，本館訂閱文史哲政治軍事與法律，教育與社會科學綜合及經濟與管理四個專輯。論文摘要由1994年開始(部分刊物回溯至創刊），文史哲政治軍事與法律，教育與社會科學綜合及經濟與管理全文由1994年開始。
文史哲專輯 -- 學科範圍：語言、文字、文學、文化、藝術、音樂、美術、體育、歷史、考古、哲學、宗教、心理等。
政治軍事與法律專輯 -- 學科範圍：政論、黨建、外交、公安、群眾組、軍事、法律等。
教育與社會科學綜合 -- 學科範圍：社會科學理論與方法、社會學及統計學、民族學、人口學與計劃生育教育理論與教育管理等。
經濟與管理專輯 -- 學科範圍：經濟、商貿、財政、金融、保險等。
中國重要會議論文全文數據庫 (文史哲、政治軍事與法律、教育與社會科學綜合、經濟與管理專輯)
本數據庫收錄2000年以來國家二級以上學會、協會、高等院校、科研院所、學術機構等單位的論文集，學科內容分為十個專輯包括: 理工A ; 理工B ; 理工C ; 農業、醫藥衛生、文史哲、政治軍事與法律、教育與社會科學綜合、電子技術與資訊科學、經濟與管理。本館購買文史哲、政治軍事與法律、教育與社會科學綜合、經濟與管理專輯, 全文內容由2009年起。 附註: 請用 CAJ viewer 或 Acrobat Reader 閱覽圖像檔案) ( 下載 CajViewer )
中文電子期刊服務
此資料庫收錄以台灣、中國大陸、香港及其他全球各地以中文為主要語言的期刊, 涵蓋的科目包括人文學科、社會科學、自然科學、應用科學、醫學與生命科學等。讀者可以學科、出版機構、期刊名稱或進階檢索等選項進行檢索及瀏覽。

Economics and Financial Data

ADB Statistical Database System (SDBS)
Developed by Asian Development Bank [ADB], SDBS is the bank’s central statistical database that stores macro-economic and social data of its developing member countries (DMCs). The SDBS data come from statistical contacts that are mostly national statistics offices and central banks of the DMCs. SDBS also store data from other international organizations' databases and websites. The data of this free resource are from 1990 to 2017.

Eurostat
Contains a great deal of data on the EU including macroeconomics external trade, demographics and industrial data.

Hong Kong Statistics
Provides major economic and social data of Hong Kong.

INFOBANK Online Database Service 中國資訊行 (繁體 / 简体)
這數據庫在實時新聞、法律、股票、市場趨勢等多個方面提供中國經濟的最新統計和資訊。

Thomson Reuters Eikon
Thomson Reuters Eikon contains a wide range of financial data such as equities, equity indices, bonds, bond indices, futures, warrants, options, fundamental company accounts data, etc. To use Eikon, users should access the specific terminal on the 3/F.

UNdata
UNdata is a multi-disciplinary source providing official statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system. The database also includes estimates and projections. Themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators

World DataBank
Includes the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance databases. Contains over 500 timeseries indicators under the headings: world view, environment, economy, states and markets and global links. Data are at the country level only and are updated annually. Includes the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance databases.