Home > Subject Guide - English Language Learning

Major e-resources in SYU Collections
Road to IELTS at Clarity English
     Road to IELTS is online preparation and practice resource for IELTS. With over 120 hours of interactive activities, advice videos from British Council experts, hints and tips on question types as well as downloadable practice tests, it is comprehensive, up-to-date and aimed precisely at the challenges candidates face. Road to IELTS is suitable for IELTS candidates from band score 4.5 upwards, and for institutions running IELTS preparation courses.
 
Study Skills Success at Clarity English
     Study Skills Success helps students develop all academic study skills which they need at universities or other higher education institutes. It covers the following areas: Independent learning, Critical thinking, Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Grammar, Vocabulary, Visuals and Research. All are approached in an academic context.
 
Practical Writing at Clarity English
     Practical Writing covers text types that students need to produce at school: for and against essays and short reports (both IELTS Writing tasks) as well as descriptive essays. One unit helps them to take notes efficiently and another helps them to understand and avoid plagiarism. The program also covers the writing they need in their daily life, whether it’s texting their friends, emailing their teachers or writing formal letters to the bank or the immigration authorities.
 
Tense Buster at Clarity English
     Tense Buster helps learners develop their confidence in 33 key grammar areas. The program is ideal either as a self-access resource, or integrated into a course of study and used in class or for homework.

Clear Pronunciation 1 (Sounds) at Clarity English
     Clear Pronunciation 1 (Sounds) helps learners recognize and pronounce 43 English phonemes. The program includes over 1,000 audio clips and 50 videos providing input for the sounds and models for learners to copy. The Recorder enables users to record their voice and assess their pronunciation against a native speaker
 
Clear Pronunciation 2 (Speech) at Clarity English
     Clear Pronunciation 2 (Speech) sensitizes students to elements of pronunciation they may not even be aware of (such as sentence stress or intonation) and helps them to listen and produce these sounds accurately.
 
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
     This source provides the complete text of the printed version of Oxford English Dictionary, containing obsolete old English words, as well as the broadest possible range of general and specialist vocabulary.
 
The New York Times in Education
     The New York Times in Education is a resource designated for educators by providing curated synopses that connect news to specific areas of study. It covers different study areas, including American government, biology, business, campaigns & elections, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, international relations, leadership, psychology, religious studies, writing & English composition, and etc. The database includes article discussion, case studies and sharing of teaching strategies.
Other resources in SYU related to English Language Learning
Learner’s Dictionary and Thesaurus
Oxford advanced learner's dictionary of current English
4/F., English Reference (R 423 HOR 2015)
 
Collins COBUILD intermediate learner's dictionary.
4/F., English Reference (R 423 COL 2018)
 
牛津高階英漢雙解詞典 = Oxford advanced learner's English-Chinese dictionary
2/F., Chinese Reference (R 805.132 409 2013)
 
Collins COBUILD IELTS dictionary.
4/F., English Reference (R 428.24 COL 2015)
 
Longman dictionary of contemporary English.
4/F., English Reference (R 423 LON 2009)
 
Longman learner's dictionary of idiomatic English (English-Chinese) = 朗文實用英語慣用語詞典 (英漢雙解)
4/F., English Reference (R 413.1 VIC 1993)
 
Macmillan English dictionary for advanced learners
4/F., English Reference (R 423 MAC 2007)
 
Oxford phrasal verbs dictionary for learners of English.
4/F., English Reference (R 423.1 OXF/PHR 2001)
 
Oxford idioms dictionary for learners of English.
4/F., English Reference (R 413.1 OXF 2001)
 
Oxford business English dictionary : for learners of English
4/F., English Reference (R 650.03 OXF 2005)
 
McGraw-Hill Education Essential ESL dictionary for learners of English
4/F., English Reference (R 423.1 MCG 2014)
 
Guides to English Language writing and studying
The elements of style  / by William Strunk Jr. ; updated & edited by Richard De A'Morelli.
4/F., English Book (808.042 STR 2017)
 
The complete plain words / Ernest Glowers
5/F., English Book (425 GOW)
 
The official Cambridge guide to IELTS : for academic & general training : student's book with answers
G/F., Counter DVD, AVD(C) (428.0076 CUL 2014)
4/F., English Book (428.0076 CUL 2014) 

中國人學英語 / 呂叔湘著   
2/F., Chinese Book (805.1 708 2008)
 
Finding books in SYU Library
SYU Library Catalogue (PRIMO)
 
Useful subject keywords
Library users may use the below subject keywords to locate books
              
College readers.
             
English language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers.
 
Graduate Record Examination -- Study guides.
 
International English Language Testing System. (i.e. IELTS)

Public speaking
 
English language -- Spoken English.
 
Test of English as a Foreign Language  (i.e. TOEFL)